One point is fact: competent, educated people shall attend and do their jobs in any possible Ex hazardous industries.
What level of competencies shall be achieved and by which organization?

Competencies are described in standards like

  • IEC 60079-14 for people participating in projects, new investments
  • IEC 60079-17 for people participating in operation, existing sites, maintenance
  • IEC 60079-19 for people participating in repair

Upper level is if these are defined by law or decrees of certain countries.
Let me give you an example:
In Hungary 21/2010 14.V NFGM decree defines three levels of personnel competencies related to hazardous area industries:

  • Operator (1) – sbj of certification for official personnel competencies – 10 days course, examination happens via a board defined by ministry of education
  • Maintenance (2) – participation at specialized course, examination
  • Responsible person (manager, designer) (3) – participation at specialized course, examination

It clearly shows the minimum level of personnel competencies as per above standards:

  • Operator (1) (2)
  • Responsible person (3)

Certainly it can be defined by each industry site if no other upper definition exists.

It is better to define how and what we understand as a minimum level of Ex competency and how we measure it. International licences are Ok, but we shall be able to go for interpretation. No direct compromise PLEASE.
The most simple way is described above in the standard, makes sense to follow worldwide – do we need more?!
Note: not because of an existing or future Ex competency level we can act as an installateur… or designer… . Any kind of Ex competency level is a further education of an existing skill (electrical, instrumentation, machinery, HSE, etc) to be updated direction hazardous area industries.

Anyone who interacts shall have one of above mentioned Ex competencies.

Leave a Reply